Solstice

A solstice. The summer solstice is when the sun reaches the highest point in the sky, making it the longest day. For you, that may just be it. For me, this summer solstice has meant something more.

I have reached my highest ebb. I am at the highest point I can be, and right now I am experiencing a freedom that I would have never guessed was missing a month or two ago. Tomorrow I walk up on a stage in front of both familiar and unfamiliar faces to finally grasp a piece of paper that I have worked 12 years of my life on. Tomorrow, everything that has happened in the past four years becomes mainly irrelevant.

Over the past few months, I have realized something that’s quite shocking for me. I am a person who searches for stability in their life. Only now have I realized that without solid circumstances, I have finally understood things about myself I would’ve never understood before. The lesson here is that yes, stability can be good for us, but only to an extent. We need change. We need to learn how to adapt so we can adapt when there is no choice. Without change, we only focus on a certain aspect of our being and that is in the most flat setting. If I love someone, I do want to know what they’re like in the normal mode, obviously. But, what’s more important to me, is knowing what happens in their mind when they’re mad, what makes them tick, and how they express it. It’s these unexpected nuances that unravel a  persons inner being. It is change that will bring two old best friends together, crying, because of the stress and society that has driven them apart. It is change that will break apart a relationship which had the perception of knowing the deepest corners of the soul and realizing it had just the persona.

We go through these changes in life, most of the time avoiding them at any given chance. Instead I say we welcome it. Welcome every bit of life that comes our way and enjoy it to the fullest extent. We mustn’t look back, as the past is in the past and it wasn’t us, but merely a past us.

So, when I walk up tomorrow to the stage and take this paper, I will thank my past self and my peers and teachers/mentors for helping us change. I will not be sad, but rather happy that another chapter of exploration is about to begin. Accepting the change and welcoming it rather gives me a freedom I couldn’t have dreamed of before.

Leave a comment