The Dish on Macarons

Being a girl that grew up with the constant lingering scent of fresh homemade pastries, I feel that I have the proper standing at judging bakeries when it comes to it. Now, If you live in the GTA, you know that most of the “cool” and “chic” bakeries and patisseries are located downtown Toronto…

Unfortunately, I have spent the last few years living north of Toronto, leaving me quite sheltered. A few expeditions into the depths of York Region have led me to only two known places which produce a french macaron. Yes, macaron, not macaroon. Macaroon is simply the wrong term as it is a completely different cookie, made of coconut. I learned that the hard way.

From what I could find, Alice Bakery was the only good place in York Region with decent macarons (as well as other amazing treats).

One place I was lucky enough to visit was a specialty macaron patisserie downtown Toronto, the famous Butter Avenue. With a gorgeous set up and selection of macarons varying from earl grey tea, to strawberry white chocolate, and lychee raspberry, the options are endless. There were also some desserts with macarons that just looked absolutely delectable.

IMG_0474

Anyways, soon I will be moving downtown, which will give me more opportunity to try all of the macarons in the city and write some reviews 😉

Leave a comment