Why is PDA a bad thing?

Stupid question, I know. Just hear me out.

PDA is just affection. If we encourage love, why do we get grossed out or just show disgust towards it but then turn into hypocrites when we do it ourselves?

Jealousy, of course. Envy. The green eyed monster. Whatever you like to call it.

I have come a long way when I say that I seriously have gotten over that stage. I can successfully look at exes when they are happy with their new girlfriend, and I can be sincerely happy for them without a drop of jealousy. The first step to doing this is accepting that love is happiness from their happiness. Remember that old saying, “If you love something, let it go”? Whoever said it first… You my friend, were right. If you don’t let something go you won’t be doing the best for yourself or the couple you are sending your bad energy towards.

Think about it for a moment. If you really love them, you would be willing to let them go and be happy. If you are not, think again. That would be infatuation: it is selfish love, it may feel like you are feeling love but really you just want them for yourself.

But here’s a disclaimer: I’m not saying that if you really are in love you will not feel any pain towards letting them go.

It’s just the fact of accepting it and at least trying to move on.

Then there’s the rest, who don’t have any prejudice towards any specific couples with PDA, it’s just in general PDA.

We are a changing world who strives towards acceptance of everyone and love…

I’m also not saying that everyone going to a business meeting should give hugs and be all like “I love you, bro”…

We should just learn to be more ok with PDA, chill guys, we’re not having sex in public.

For those who feel like they will never get a relationship, I must say that really everyone has that once in their life, but love sort of appears when you’re barely looking for it… And even though it feels like forever “waiting” in a way, it is so worth it once you really know.

4 thoughts on “Why is PDA a bad thing?

  1. this comment is to the ending of your blog: sometimes it’s hard, especially in our school. everywhere you turn is couples, which I have nothing against don’t get me wrong, they’re just a constant reminder of what you don’t have. even when I’m not looking for “love” it doesn’t come and when I finally decide to get up off my butt and do something about it instead of complaining all day, I still can’t find “love”. I’m just starting to lose hope for myself, everyone says, you’ll find someone someday, well what if that day is when I’m 40. I’m tired of waiting, why can’t cupid hit me and a guy with a stupid arrow so I can be happy for crying out loud! even though I know guys aren’t the key to happiness, they’re a big part of making my life crap right now so why can’t they do the opposite…?

  2. I guess you just have to be patient. If you try rushing into things it may lead you into something you could’ve been better without. As for other couples, it’s really a waste of your time to be comparing your love life to others. Good compatibility is tough to find in a school alone. There are so many people still living single without any mate… and they’re still happy. The best way to go about it is not to count who you don’t have at the moment.

Leave a comment